Cover Him With Darkness by Janine Ashbless

Cover Him With Darkness

5 chocolate kisses

arc received from edleweiss

This book was an unexpected delight. For me it is pure fantasy as I do not believe in Fallen Angels but the ‘what if’ aspect was excellent.

I suppose this could be considered erotica, but I just didn’t feel that it was. The nature of the story of fallen angels and human women was about desire and however conflicted the female lead in the story was, it was a large part of the interaction.  So it was a romance which was graphic at times.  But for some reason this did not bother me.  I think the reason why was because there was soooooo much more going on in the story.

I thought this was a well crafted story that always kept me guessing and I was just not certain of anything until the last page. Great reading and I highly recommend it for people that like dark, speculative, religious fantasy or just dark fantasy.

It is not a traditional love story in regards to it be consistent.  What I liked about it was that the characters had to work through their feelings which were complicated and they had to struggle with their choices.

The worldbuilding was lush and the author was able to describe the scenery to the point that the reader felt they were actually in Montenegro and to be honest, I would like to visit there because as it was describe, I found it very beautiful.  The scenes in the States were not so clearly drawn, but I am familiar with cities there and this author did not need to waste words in that regard so I did not take that as a negative.

Another large positive for me was the sense of Good versus Evil and what that actually was.  It was not so clear cut as other books that I have read in the genre.  The only thing that stood out for me as ringing near truth was that fact the humans and ‘angels’ both have to obey and the results of not doing it played out a bit in the story.  But there was nothing definitive beyond a certain choice and the rest of  it is pretty much left wide open for other books in the series.

It it a romance?  I would say yes, but not one like I have ever read before and that was indeed quite refreshing and I was on the edge of my seat all throughout it.

This is a very adult book for mature audiences.

 

Leave a Reply

